Federal Minimum Wage by State – 2022 & 2023

Federal Minimum Wage

The federal minimum wage for 2022 is $7.25 per hour. Some states and countries have raised their own minimum wages since it has not been increased since July 2009.

The federal minimum wage rates below are for general informational purposes only and may change during the calendar year. They should not be used as legal or professional advice. Ensure you contact your state agency for more information regarding rates and wages specific to your location/State.

What Is The Minimum Wage?

The minimum wage rate can be defined as “the minimum amount of remuneration that an employer is required to pay wage earners for the work performed during a given period, which cannot be reduced by collective agreement or an individual contract.”

In the US, the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) establishes a minimum wage for employees in the private sector and in Federal, State, and local governments.

Federal Minimum Wage

The current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.

  • $5.15 – Sep 01, 1997
  • $5.85 – July 24, 2007
  • $6.55 – July 24, 2008
  • $7.25 – July 24, 2009

The Federal minimum wage hasn’t gone up in a decade. Some states, cities, and counties are increasing their minimum wage rates based on the cost of living. In those cases, as a business owner or employer, you are required to pay your employees a higher amount.

State Minimum Wage Rates From 2019 to 2023

In 2023, 13 states across the country will increase their minimum wages for workers.

To help you know the minimum wage for your state for 2022, the following table includes current state and federal minimum wage rates, exceptions, and scheduled increases, if any:

Federal Minimum Wage by States

State 2023 Minimum Wage (eff. 1/1/23 except as noted)
Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California $15.00 minimum will apply to all employers Annual increases begin  1/1/23
Colorado
Connecticut $15.00 effective 6/1/23
Delaware $11.75
Washington D.C.
Florida $12.00 effective 9/30/23
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois $13.00
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts $15.00
Michigan $10.10
Minnesota Annual increases begin  1/1/23
Mississippi
Missouri $12.00
Montana Annual increases begin 1/1/23
Nebraska
Nevada $11.25
New Hampshire
New Jersey $14.00 (Businesses with fewer than 6 employees and seasonal employees pay $12.70)
New Mexico $12.00
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio Annual increases begin 1/1/23
Oklahoma
Oregon Annual increases begin 7/1/23
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island $13.00
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont Annual increases begin 1/1/23
Virginia $12.00
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming
U.S. Virgin Islands
Puerto Rico
Guam

Federal Minimum Wage by States

State 2022 Minimum Wage
Alabama $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Alaska $10.34
Arizona $12.80
Arkansas $11.00
California $15 (Employers with 26 or more employees, otherwise $14)
Colorado $12.56
Connecticut $14.00 (July 2022)
Delaware $10.50
Washington D.C. $16.10 (July 2022)
Florida $10.00
Georgia $7.25 ($5.15 if not covered by federal regulations)
Hawaii $12.00
Idaho $7.25
Illinois $12.00
Indiana $7.25
Iowa $7.25
Kansas $7.25
Kentucky $7.25
Louisiana $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Maine $12.75
Maryland $12.50
Massachusetts $14.25
Michigan $9.87
Minnesota $10.33  – large employers & $8.42 – small employers
Mississippi $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Missouri $11.15
Montana $9.20
Nebraska $9.00
Nevada $10.50
New Hampshire $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum))
New Jersey $13.00
New Mexico $11.50
New York $13.20
North Carolina $7.25
North Dakota $7.25
Ohio $9.30
Oklahoma $7.25
Oregon $13.50
Pennsylvania $7.25
Rhode Island $12.25
South Carolina $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
South Dakota $9.95
Tennessee $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Texas $7.25
Utah $7.25
Vermont $12.55
Virginia $11.00
Washington $14.49
West Virginia $8.75
Wisconsin $7.25
Wyoming $7.25 ($5.15 if federal regulations do not apply)
U.S. Virgin Islands $10.50
Puerto Rico $8.50 Employers covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act
Guam $8.75 (March 2020)

Federal Minimum Wage by States

State 2021 Minimum Wage
Alabama $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Alaska $10.34
Arizona $12.15
Arkansas $11.00
California $14 (Employers with 26 or more employees, otherwise $13)
Colorado $12.32
Connecticut $13.00
Delaware $9.25
Washington D.C. $15.20 (July 2021)
Florida $8.65
Georgia $7.25 ($5.15 if not covered by federal regulations)
Hawaii $10.10
Idaho $7.25
Illinois $11.00
Indiana $7.25
Iowa $7.25
Kansas $7.25
Kentucky $7.25
Louisiana $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Maine $12.15
Maryland $11.75
Massachusetts $13.50
Michigan $9.65
Minnesota $10.08  – large employers & $8.21 – small employers
Mississippi $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Missouri $10.30
Montana $8.75
Nebraska $9.00
Nevada $9.75
New Hampshire $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum))
New Jersey $12.00
New Mexico $10.50
New York $12.50
North Carolina $7.25
North Dakota $7.25
Ohio $8.80
Oklahoma $7.25
Oregon $12.75
Pennsylvania $7.25
Rhode Island $11.50
South Carolina $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
South Dakota $9.45
Tennessee $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Texas $7.25
Utah $7.25
Vermont $11.75
Virginia $9.50
Washington $13.69
West Virginia $8.75
Wisconsin $7.25
Wyoming $7.25 ($5.15 if federal regulations do not apply)
U.S. Virgin Islands $10.50
Puerto Rico $7.25 Employers covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act
Guam $8.75 (March 2020)

Federal Minimum Wage by States

State 2020 Minimum Wage
Alabama $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Alaska $10.19
Arizona $12.00
Arkansas $10.00
California $13 (Employers with 26 or more employees, otherwise $12)
Colorado $12.00
Connecticut $11.00
Delaware $9.25
Washington D.C. $15.00 (July 2020)
Florida $8.56
Georgia $7.25 ($5.15 if not covered by federal regulations)
Hawaii $10.10
Idaho $7.25
Illinois $9.25
Indiana $7.25
Iowa $7.25
Kansas $7.25
Kentucky $7.25
Louisiana $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Maine $12.00
Maryland $11.00
Massachusetts $12.75
Michigan $9.65
Minnesota $10.00  – large employers & $8.15 – small employers
Mississippi $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Missouri $9.45
Montana $8.65
Nebraska $9.00
Nevada $9.00
New Hampshire $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum))
New Jersey $11.00
New Mexico $9.00
New York $11.80
North Carolina $7.25
North Dakota $7.25
Ohio $8.70
Oklahoma $7.25
Oregon $11.25
Pennsylvania $7.25
Rhode Island $10.50
South Carolina $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
South Dakota $9.30
Tennessee$7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Texas $7.25
Utah $7.25
Vermont $10.96
Virginia $7.25
Washington $13.50
West Virginia $8.75
Wisconsin $7.25
Wyoming $7.25 ($5.15 if federal regulations do not apply)
U.S. Virgin Islands $10.50
Puerto Rico $7.25 Employers covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act
Guam $8.75 (March 2020)

Federal Minimum Wage by States

State 2019 Minimum Wage
Alabama $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Alaska $9.89
Arizona $11.00
Arkansas $9.25
California $12 (Employers with 26 or more employees, otherwise $11)
Colorado $11.10
Connecticut $10.10
Delaware $8.75
Washington D.C. $14.00
Florida $8.46
Georgia $7.25 ($5.15 if not covered by federal regulations)
Hawaii $10.10
Idaho $7.25
Illinois $8.25
Indiana $7.25
Iowa $7.25
Kansas $7.25
Kentucky $7.25
Louisiana $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Maine $11.00
Maryland $10.10
Massachusetts $12.00
Michigan $9.45
Minnesota $9.86  – large employers & $8.04 – small employers
Mississippi $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Missouri $8.60
Montana $8.50
Nebraska $9.00
Nevada $8.25
New Hampshire $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum))
New Jersey $10.00
New Mexico $7.50
New York $11.10
North Carolina $7.25
North Dakota $7.25
Ohio $8.55
Oklahoma $7.25
Oregon $11.25
Pennsylvania $7.25
Rhode Island $10.50
South Carolina $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
South Dakota $9.10
Tennessee $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Texas $7.25
Utah $7.25
Vermont $10.75
Virginia $7.25
Washington $12.00
West Virginia $8.75
Wisconsin $7.25
Wyoming $7.25 ($5.15 if federal regulations do not apply)
U.S. Virgin Islands $10.50
Puerto Rico $7.25 Employers covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act
Guam $8.25

Interesting Facts

What states raised the minimum wage in 2022?

According to EPI, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Virginia, Washington State increased their minimum wage requirements in 2022.

What states have the lowest minimum wage?

According to the data from the U.S. Department of Labor, Georgia and Wyoming have the lowest state minimum wage requirements i.e. $5.15 per hour if federal regulations do not apply; otherwise, it is $7.25.

What state has the highest minimum wage?

California has the highest state minimum wage at $15.00 per hour, which is applicable if the business has 26 or more employees. However, Washington is the only state that has a minimum wage of $14.49 for businesses of all sizes. California, Connecticut, and Massachusetts will become the top three states with the highest minimum wage for all employees in 2023.

What states have automatic increases (indexing)?

Currently, minimum wages in 18 states (AK, AZ, CA, CO, DC, FL, ME, MN, MO, MT, NV, NJ, NV, NY, OH, OR, SD, and WA) are slated for annual changes based on various formulae. Around January 1st, most of these increases take place.

What states have no minimum wage?

Tennessee, South Carolina, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Alabama have no minimum wage at all. However, the workers receive some protection and they are entitled to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 or $2.13 for tipped workers.

What are the best cities for minimum-wage workers?

According to move.org, the following are the best cities for the minimum wage workers:

  1. Cleveland, Ohio – $9.30
  2. Bakersfield, California – $15.00
  3. Detroit, Michigan – $9.87
  4. Fresno, California – $15.00
  5. Tucson, Arizona – $12.80
  6. St. Paul, Minnesota – $12.50
  7. St. Louis, Missouri – $11.15
  8. Minneapolis, Minnesota – $14.25
  9. Cincinnati, Ohio – $9.30
  10. Stockton, California – $15.00

What localities have adopted minimum wages above their state minimum wage?

According to EPI, Alameda (CA), Belmont (CA), Berkeley (CA), Birmingham (AL), Chicago (IL), Cook County (IL), Cupertino (CA), Denver(CD), East Palo Alto(CA), El Cerrito(CA), Emeryville(CA), Flagstaff(AZ), Fremont(CA), Hayward(CA), Los Altos(CA), Los Angeles County(CA), Los Angeles(CA), Malibu (CA), Milpitas (CA), Minneapolis (MN), Montgomery County (MD), Mountain View (CA), Nassau Suffolk and Westchester Counties (NY), New York City (NY), Novato (CA), Oakland (CA), Palo Alto (CA), Pasadena (CA), Petaluma(CA), Portland Urban Growth Boundary (OR), Portland (ME), Redwood City (CA), Richmond (CA), San Francisco (CA), San Jose (CA), San Mateo (CA), Santa Clara (CA), Santa Fe City (NM), Santa Fe County (NM), Santa Monica (CA), Santa Rosa (CA), SeaTac (WA), Seattle (WA), Sonoma (CA), St. Paul (MN), and Sunnyvale (CA) have adopted minimum wages above their state minimum wage.

What companies have raised their minimum wage to at least $15 an hour?

According to GBR , Aetna, Amazon, Bank of America, Ben & Jerry’s, Best Buy, Charter Communications, Cigna, Costco, Disney World, Facebook, Fifth Third Bank, Google, JPMorgan Chase, Santander Bank, Starbucks, Target, Wayfair, and Wells Fargo, have raised their minimum wage to at least $15 or more per hour.


Since 1984, CheckMark has been helping small businesses to stay in compliance with the Federal, State and local laws with our flagship software – CheckMark Payroll.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.